Synoptic Project: Testing DTNC

As some scenes in the project are set in the night, we may have to film them during the day and perform Day to Night Correction within after effects, so I took some footage from around the college building and practiced the DTNC on them.

ezgif-2-8222b5c6e2

One example of some test footage I took

ezgif-2-57b9c7ba3d

I decided to leave this piece of footage as while I was doing some colour correction, I realized that there was a lot of sunlight in the shot and it would be best to use some footage that was all in the shade, or all in sunlight as it is easier to convert.

ezgif-2-452796e571

Footage 2

I then tried to correct the other footage, this time tracking a section of the sky as well to change its colour

ezgif-2-273597fd06

I did originally try to track within mocha, but for some reason the software crashed every time I launched mocha, so I needed to track it myself with in AE.

ezgif-2-ba7cd22f3c

With and without mask

Unfortunately, after effects kept crashing again, so I changed to another piece of footage to try out on.

ezgif-2-8a6aa5c13f

ezgif-2-8757422fd9

 

Leave a comment